Video Demo: Flickr on at&t U-verse and my Samsung HDTV

at&t u-verseFlickr

Here is a demo of Flickr using my newly acquired AT&T U-Verse (IPTV fiber product from AT&T now available in selected areas in the SF Bay Area) on my Samsung 56″ DLP HDTV.

Pros:

  • Easy access by going to channel 91
  • Looks great on my HDTV
  • Free with my at&t u-verse service and box

Cons

  • All photo sets are loaded in alphabetical order
  • If photos aren’t in a set you can’t view them
  • Can’t sort photos or sets by date
  • Can’t view my Flickr collections
  • Can’t view my Flickr video

Let me know what you think by adding a comment below. Apple has a similar integration with Flickr on their Apple TV product so if you have that product let me know what you think the pros/cons are. 

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by phyllis on July 16, 2008 at 11:52 pm

    This is a very significant step forward to see how internet finally arrives into TV world.

    I can’t help to notice the loading speed is so slow, compare to view it from iMac 24” firefox browser.

    Also, how to setup channel 91 to directly link to your flickr account? should it have password protection in case other people can also easily access to your private flickr sets?

    Reply

  2. it’s a tad bit slow but good enough. To setup channel 91 you don’t need to do anything. It is connected to your existing Yahoo! account. Since I have at&t DSL I already had an account but if you have comcast or another provider not sure. As for password protection, since it is your TV I guess they’re assuming no password protection is needed however I can see the need for parental control or perhaps you share the tv with roommates.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Joel A on September 16, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    So, channel 91 is connected to your existing Yahoo! account. Can you do anything else on your Yahoo! account (e.g., news, weather, mail), or is it only Flickr photo albums? What if I have a Yahoo! account, but no photo albums? What happens when I go to channel 91?
    Joel

    Reply

  4. Joel, right now channel 91 is just your Flickr sets. If you don’t have a Flickr account and go to 91 I’m not sure since I can’t test that scenario. Let me know if you can test that. I assume it would prompt you with a message that says “No Flickr account attached to this account. To share photos and video on Flickr go to flick.com”.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Wally on October 15, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Anyone know how to get a flickr video that works on their website to play on uverse? I loaded a video and it plays on flickr but on uverse I only see the first frame as a photo.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Pedro on December 2, 2008 at 7:07 am

    The other cool thing that you can do from AT&T account is access your program guide and schedule recordings through the internet. Very cool for those sports fans that forget to schedule a game recording, no more having to call your wife to ask her to record your game.

    Reply

  7. The videos posted on Flickr only appear as a single frame as you mentioned Wally. I have the same issue on my Kodak Digital Frame W1020 which I import the Flickr feed. Hopefully at&t will come out with an updated version of the Flickr software.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Marty on September 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    I am trying to figure out how I can get to a set of pictures that I set up on flickr. I call up 91 and hit OK and it prompts that it is starting Online photos.
    It then comes to the screen stating “Get started by uploading your photos to http://www.flickr.com“. Nothing then happens.
    Is the internet supposed to be hooked up through the connection of the TV or do I need to connect a seperate cable of somekind to the TV? I am confused on how I get access to the pictures that I put in a set.
    Let me know if you understand my situation.
    Thanks,
    Marty

    Reply

  9. Posted by Millie on January 16, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Marty:

    I had the same problem connecting to Flicker via U-Verse and discovered through “trial and error” that I needed to be connected to Flickr using the original ATT/ Yahoo screen name I had set up and not one of the other three I had also set-up under the same account.

    I hope the above explanation makes sense to you and that it solves your problem.

    Good Luck!!

    Millie

    Reply

  10. Posted by Manny on December 2, 2010 at 12:32 am

    Hi DJ, thanks for the informative information. The year is
    almost over. I Have ATT U-Verse just happen to find ch91. Which I
    have not been to my flicker account over a year now. I notice a new
    feature on Flicker where you could upload videos. I uploaded some
    videos and new pictures. Went to ch91. Able to view pix. but video
    not playing. So went to ATT yahoo support which link me to your
    reply. So ATT does not have where they could play Video as well.
    That would be great if they did. Thanks again for your information.
    I like your Tv as well. I have Samsung DLP. Would like to get a
    plasma. If the wife would approve.

    Reply

  11. Posted by U-verse User on July 21, 2011 at 3:20 pm

    Flickr has been updated. Flickr IDs can now be used. Photostream, Sets, Favorites, Groups and Contacts have been included. Much faster app.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Ann on March 20, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Has anyone figured out to get video to play from Flickr account on AT&T Uverse TV?

    Reply

  13. I would like to know how to hook up a flickr account to my new uverse cable through my samsung s 3 epic sprint phone is that possible so I can view my existing pictures on the television?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

