My First Computer: The HP-85…What was yours?

Here is a photo of my first computer, the HP-85, HP’s first personal computer from 1980.  I remember playing games on it, writing BASIC code (I think it was that computer), putting in the cartridges, and re-filling the cash register printer with paper. What was your first computer? Comment below.

Hewlett-Packard-85 personal computer - 3/4 view.

Pulled from the HP web site:

The HP-85 personal computer was a totally self-contained, portable system for the technical professional or the beginning small-computer user. The HP-85 was based on an 8-bit microprocessor and combined an alphanumeric keyboard, CRT screen, thermal printer tape drive unit, user read/write memory and a ROM operating system in one portable package. It had 32K ROM and 16K RAM.

Click here for a quicktime VR tour of the computer.

-Randy

http://twitter.com/djksar

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by BC on January 21, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    I got one of the Macintosh SE http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Macintosh_SE

    It was great for it’s day.

    Reply

  2. Timex Sinclair 1000 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timex_Sinclair_1000

    Bought through the mail and assembled in my living room with the help of my dad and a soldering iron. I’m still amazed at how much fun I could have wrting programs with a whopping 2K of ram and saving them to an audio cassette tape.

    It was worth every lawn I had to mow to buy it. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Texas TI 99/4a. That was something like 27 years ago (was 10 at the time). Vivid memories of being sat in caravan somewhere in northern England with a computer mag hand-typing code into the machine to get a game to work.

    Was programming in BASIC till I was 16, sometimes wonder why I left all that behind.

    Nice blog BTW 🙂

    Reply

  4. Apple IIe , WITH the 80 column card baby! And then my neighbors got an Apple II with a COLOR MONITOR. Ohmygod I was soooo jealous!

    http://apple2history.org/history/ah07.html

    Reply

  5. Atari 2600 using VisiCalc, AtariWriter along with my daisy-wheel printer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

