Waze: User-Generated Driving Map on Android

I just signed-up for an alpha of an Android app called Waze which is a user-generated driving map. I can use it to know how traffic is going on the roads via user-generated content which in my mind is much faster and more reliable than 511 or any police report.  It might make a few more people using their cell phones and data plan while on the road but is definitely helpful. Also, it allows for you to edit the map which is helpful if you are on a new road or one where there is no left turn anymore (like on most of the San Francisco roads!). Their taking sign-ups now for their alpha release so if you are daring (and live in the San Francisco Bay Area) sign-up at www.waze.com, follow @waze on Twitter, and read their blog. I haven’t tried it out yet, but once I get access to the alpha I’ll do a video and take some screenshots. Stay tuned and if you have used it let me know what you think.

-Randy

2 responses to this post.

  1. Waze looks really cool. I can’t wait to try it out when I come to San Francisco this month.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Justin on August 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Sweet! Just what I need in the bay area.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

